Saturday, September 26, 2009

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prizes -- 2009

I like to call the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prizes the Oscars of Indian science. This year's winners have just been announced. I'm not able to access the CSIR website, but here's a news story on the announcement. [Update: Here's the press release.]

I am so happy to see three four of my colleagues in the list of Bhatnagar winners:

  1. Prof. Jayant Haritsa (Engineering)

  2. Prof. Giridhar Madras (Engineering). His blog is here.

  3. Prof. Narayanaswamy Jayaraman (Chemistry)

  4. Prof. S.K. Satheesh (Earth Sciences)

It's also great to see that Prof. Charusita Chakravarty, a friend at IIT-D, is one of the Chemistry Prize winners.

Previous posts on the S.S. Bhatnagar Prizes: 2008, 2007, 2006 and 2004-05.


  1. Anonymous said...

    official notification

  2. Anonymous said...

    CSIR usually chooses a lot of dubious
    people for this award.. looks like
    this year they have minimized such errors :-))

  3. Anonymous said...

    How many have got this award before in IISc for engineering?

    Normally, science awards should go to IISc and engineering award to IITs

  4. Giri@iisc said...

    Anon: I am sorry that you think that way. The engineering departments of IISc are comparable or better than the engineering departments of IITs.

    To answer your question, the number of Bhatnagar in engineering science to faculty in IISc in the last ten years is five. In the last ten years, there may have been 16-17 awards and five from IISc is still very good.