Sunday, January 25, 2009

Padma Awards

Here's the list for this year. And here are the winners in Science and Engineering:

Padma Vibhushan:

  1. Anil Kakodkar (Atomic Energy)
  2. Madhavan Nair (Space)

Padma Bhushan:

  1. Bhakta B. Rath (Materials Science)
  2. Conjeevaram Srirangachari Seshadri (Mathematics)
  3. Gurdip Singh Randhawa (Horticulture)
  4. Sam Pitroda (Telecom)
  5. Sarvagya Singh Katiyar (Chemistry)
  6. Thomas Kailath (Electrical Engineering)

Padma Shri:

  1. Pramod Tandon (Biotechnology)
  2. Syed Iqbal Hasnain (Geology)
  3. Goriparthi Narasimha Raju Yadav (Agriculture)

The list of award winners includes academics such as Iravatham Mahadevan (Padma Shri), C.K. Prahlad, Ramachandra Guha, Isher Judge Ahluwalia (Padma Bhushan) and D.P. Chattopadhyaya (Padma Vibhushan).

* * *

Previous Republic Day Award posts: 2008, 2007, 2006.


  1. Anonymous said...

    I am happy to know Dr. Nair get the award. I admire him and his organization especially after I read the chapter - The quest for atomic power and rockets in the book - India : Rise of an Asian giant
    Here is another Global Space Agenda:Transforming India's space program by Nair that he gave recently.

  2. Anonymous said...

    Apart from many well known names like Nair and Kakodkar, what is the contributions of others? Who is Randhawa and Katiyar? Have they made any significant contribution to merit this award? Or is their political connection their most significant aspect? For example if you google these names, you get an idea who is who.. Need more be said?

  3. L. Venkata Subramaniam said...

    Did you know that 50% awards are in arts and literature. Science tech and medicine constitutes only 25% of the total awards.